Back Contact us

Namibian team named for Supersport Rugby Challenge

WINDHOEK, 20 APR (NAMPA) – The Namibia Rugby Union has released the names of the players who will line up against The Falcons at the Bernard Stadium in Johannesburg on Saturday.
This will be Namibia’s first game in the 2017 SuperSport Rugby Challenge which was last year known as the Currie Cup.
In a media statement issued Wednesday, a squad of 22 players were announced, with Eugene Jantjies leading the side as captain.
There is plenty of experience in the team, with players like Rohan Kitshoff, JC Greyling and Jantjies having represented Namibia at Rugby World Cup level.
Most players also played in the previous editions of the tournament, hence a lot is expected from the team.
Namibia’s next match will be against the Blue Bulls on 29 April at the Hage Geingob Stadium in Windhoek.
This year’s tournament will be the first edition of the SuperSport Rugby Challenge, a secondary domestic rugby union competition in South Africa, and the long-term successor of the Vodacom Cup competition.
The competition is organised by the South African Rugby Union and will be played between 22 April and 16 July 2017.
The competition will feature all 14 South African provincial unions plus Namibian side, the Welwitschias.
The players: Christo McNish, Shaun du Preez, AJ de Klerk, Muniovito Kasiringua, Max Katjijeko, Thomasua Forbes, Rohan Kitshoff, Leneve Damens (Vice Captain), Eugene Jantjies (Captain), Theuns Kotze, Gino Wilson, Darryl de la Harpe, JC Greyling, Lesley Klim, David Philander, Andries Rossouw, Gerhard Lotter, Collen Smit, Mahapisa Tjeriko, Victor Rodrigues, Francois Wiese, Aurelio Plato.

© 2015 NAMPA. All rights reserved